Carbon Neutral 100%

Travelers' reviews about Jordan

4.8
17 reviews
LivingInGratitude
5
Jordan
Couple
Jordan was...amazing, exceptional, incredible...and beyond our expectations. And we were pleasantly surprised at being treated so well (as Americans). The Jordanians were welcoming and kind and warm. We couldn't have been happier!
Best parts:
Ahmad! He was our driver, our tour guide, and basically...he was JORDAN. We loved him. He made the trip special and memorable. Totally professional and was exactly where he said he'd be at all times... THANK YOU!
Worst parts:
The hotels were just okay. For a '*****' tour/trip, we could have stayed in much nicer places.
Evaneos
Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!
Love To Travel
5
Jordan
Friends
We loved Jordan and the people were friendly. Our Guide Nick really made the difference
Best parts:
Our Guide really made the trip! He knew the area and roads. He was very helpful. Doing simple things like running our laundry to the cleaners. I felt he had our safety and best interest at all times. The Hotel at the end was very nice - The H**** Id recommend this hotel.
Worst parts:
The flies at the resort in the Dead Sea They were terrible and we couldn’t be outside. There were so many and they would fly into your face. The restaurant couldn’t control them and they were on the food in the buffet. I was a bit surprised. I don’t know if this is an issue at all resorts or just ours. I was expecting more in the rooms for a 4 star Hotel. The shower and bathroom in the W*** R** camp need some help. They didn’t install traps on the drains and the sewage smell comes up the drains into the rooms. They tried using moth balls to mask the smell but that added to the stench.
moumou
5
Jordan
Private group
7-full day itinerary. We went almost everywhere and itinerary available from the Agency. MERCI to the team at Evaneos. It is ONE of the BEST holidays.
Best parts:
LOVE: Mohammed our tour organiser. Nadir our guide. Our driver was attentive and careful. Mohamed was Ab Fab! Patient, informative, helpful.... He chose the right guide/drive/transport for us. The services we received since arrival until departure was first class. We are frequent foreign travellers so I can safely say it is 10/10. Our guide was superb! He made us fall in love with Jordan. We received some negative feedback before our journey on Jordan from friends in UK but our travels was magical. We WILL come back God willing! Jordan IS gorgeous and the people wonderful.
Worst parts:
A bit pricey but apart that nothing really in particular. We were a group of 14 folks (adults, children, adolescents, elderly) with each one having their own preferences. It was a tall order and yet Mohamed/Nadir/Driver delivered on ALL fronts. Evaneos/Mohamed and Nadir/Driver went above the call of duty to ensure we had a wonderful time. THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!! We came back home recommending the services of Evaneos.
Evaneos
Dear moumou, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Jordan and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
JG
5
Jordan
Couple
Jordan is a quiet country and the citizens are very nice. We loved going to Petra and the night we spent in the desert was very enjoyable. Jerash was awesome and floating in the Dead Sea was so fun.
Best parts:
It was well planned and went smoothly. Mohammed responded promptly to my questions and was did a great job planning the trip. There was a little hitch with our hotel in Israel and since our driver didn't know English well he couldn't help so I contacted Mohammed and he was right on it.
Worst parts:
Our driver in Israel knew little English so communication was a challenge.
Evaneos
Dear JG, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Jordan and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
Rosiem
3
Jordan
Couple
Overrall the trip was enjoyable , we were obvious to the fact it was indeed a Tour Jordan trip with nil mention of Evaneos who it would appear are just booking agents . Had it not been for the excellent driver I feel we would have been more disapointed
Best parts:
Jarash ,Dead Sea , Petra, Mt Nebo and Red Sea resort
Worst parts:
Dana and Kings highway which was nothing like the descriptor, I highlighted this to our driver , it was false information and a wasted dayThe location of the Seven Roses hotel in Amman is pretty dire , surrounded by building rubble and derelict shops with absolutely no where to meander and enjoy the city The guide in Jarash was a stand in from GA Adventures and gave us the briefest of tours , Basil in Petra gave less information than that included in the free guide which was a bit disappointing ,He also encouraged a local youth to shoot down small birds with a catapult and treat it as a joke which was a little upsetting especially for my wife The Wadi Rum is dreadful a sun baked Nissan hut at least 50Deg C with no ventilation other than a desk fan , We had pictures of a luxury tent open to the aspect arranged around the cooking area , this was really something I would like a refund for
NED
5
Jordan
Couple
A very good, enjoyable holiday that ended with a relaxing stay in Aqaba.
Best parts:
Seeing and learning about the spectacular archaeology, scenery and geology of Jordan. Jerash, Petra and Wadi Rum were the highlights. Very good standard of hotels, meals, service etc. and, in Bader, an excellent guide who was knowledgeable, friendly and had a good sense of humour.
Worst parts:
The appalling standard of other drivers, the amount of food waste and the litter (particularly plastic bottles) that seemed to be everywhere in Jordan.
Buffalogirl
5
Jordan
Solo
It was a very interesting country with many top sights, a fascinating culture and very friendly people. I felt safe exploring by myself and at the same time not too constrained by the tour schedule. It was a perfect arrangement for me - a customised feel and at the same time having the logistics taken care of. Sight highlights were Petra, Wadi Rum and Jerash. I would love to upload some photos, but they are not ready yet. If I may I would like to submit some in a little while.
Best parts:
The mix of sights, the quality of the hotels, the flexibility and personalised nature of the tour, the reliability and supportiveness of the driver, the quality of the guides at the sights.
Worst parts:
In hindsight, I could have done with a bit more info about the program items and how the tour would work. Some info, which I think I was meant to have from the outset, was attached to the survey from the tour operator, which I only saw at the end of the tour. It was up to me to ask questions and find out things.
Goodrich
5
Jordan
Couple
Amman airport pickup from Cairo. Private driver with Guides at each site. Jurash, Dead Sea Hilton, Baptism site, Queen Noor foundation, Mt. Nebo, Petra by night and a full day in Petra with guide, and last day touring Amman with a visit to The Citadel, The National Museum, the city center Mosque and Orthodox church. We also saw one of the 12th century castles near Petra but did not have time to go in. Everything was arranged via email and uploading payment information which I liked.
Best parts:
Our driver, Ali, was a so pleasant, helpful, and very honest. He also helped us change our itinerary a little by taking us to The Baptism site since we were so close. He was also very open with us at the beginning by telling us he could not help us negotiate with venders. He never made up any BS answers if he didn’t know anything. We also loved the fact that our Visas were taken care of and very easy flow through customs. We loved Jordan and would love to visit again. Petra and Jurash were incredible. I never dreamed that either were so well preserved and so large. Jesus’ Ba[tism site was so powerful and it really made the trip. Petra by night was also quite an experience...one not to be missed. The National Museum in Amman, also not on our itinerary, was just reopened. It gives a very honest look at Jordan and it’s history. We loved the Dead Sea Scroll exhibit and the 9000 year old human statues whiich are the oldest known statues ever found. Jordan needs to advertise these things to potential tourists in the West as it has a lot to offer and we never at any time felt that we were not safe. The first thing that was said to us upon arrival when we were picked up by Evaneos, rep was that you are in Jordan and you are safe.
Worst parts:
Very little. The hotel in Amman, The House,a boutique hotel, was new. It did not have a restaurant though did serve breakfast. Our room was cold, it was winter. We never got the room warm nor was the water from the shower hot. The staff at breakfast never explained that we could order freshly prepared eggs. We read it on the table at the end of the meal. We had to ask for coffee or tea and nothing was explained about the three stations of the buffet which were in completely opposite ends of the room. The staff just stood around...very odd.
Bill and Margi
5
Jordan
Couple
We were referred to Evanos web site by our travel agent who was unfamiliar with Jordan. They very efficiently connected us with the local agency who took very good care of us . We were met at the airport and taken to the Seven Roses hotel in Amman, a very busy city. No problem getting there through heavy traffic. The itinerary included Jerash, Amman, Petra, Dana and Wadi Rum with the Bedouins. All by car and all very comfortable. Great explanations of the places we visited.
Best parts:
The surprise of Jerash. Everyone focuses on Petra but Jerach was just as stunning. Our guide, Gasson, was very informative and an excellent conservative driver in a very comfortable car. . The walk in the desert of Wadi Rum. The ease with which Evanos connected us with a local guide group.
Worst parts:
cold nights in WADI RUM No chance to see the Red Sea. Slippery Shower at Seven Rose Hotel, and very smokey dining room.
Family of 4, USA
5
Jordan
Family
We've wanted to go to Jordan for a very long time, and we spend 2 days in and around Ammam, 1 day at the dead sea, 2 days in Petra and 1 day in the Wadi Rum.
Best parts:
We had an amazing trip. Our itinerary was perfect and the support from the local agency was wonderful. But the highlight besides the beautiful country, wonderful people and amazing food was our terrific driver Basil who could not have been more wonderful and accomodating. His recommendations for schedule adjustments, restaurants and other ideas was PERFECT. he also adjusted our schedule to our every last minute whim. He was absolutely the best and we recommend both Him and Hala's Agency in Jordan. The service, hotels and everything was just amazing.
Worst parts:
NOTHING. We had the most amazing time and it exceeded all expectations!!!
Bob
5
Jordan
Friends
Favorites: Jerash, Dead Sea, Petra and Wadi Rum. That's pretty much the whole trip. There was a travel day from the Dead Sea to Petra which wasn't so interesting.
Best parts:
Jordan is an amazing country with a ton of stuff to offer. As an unknown part of the world to me, I was surprised and impressed with the variety of its terrain and the history it offered, from Moses to the Nabateans to Greeks, Romans and Byzantines, to the Islamic conquest and the Crusaders, and finally to the Ottoman Empire.
Worst parts:
Jordan was expensive. While we were on tour and largely spared the costs because we prepaid, we wondered how the ordinary people live. Downside: The paperwork was confusing and mismanaged with repeated requests for passport (already sent) and finally, when we arrived, the wrong names on exit permits.
moebius
5
Jordan
Solo
I started the tour in Anman for 2 nights visiting ancient sites, followed by one night in Petra and one night in the Dead Sea. Of all the ancient sites visited on my Middle East trip, Petra takes the cake. I especially enjoyed walking through the Siq. The red sands of Wadi Rum accentuated the desert. The Dead Sea hotel is actually a resort on the grounds of the Dead Sea, which makes it easy to access the waters. The water was warm in mid November. The weather was warmer than I expected, with a bit of humidity.
Best parts:
Dead Sea! It was a surreal experience standing in the water without touching the bottom. Petra and Wadi Rum were also amazing experiences. I rode on the camel multiple times on this Middle East trip, and the camel ride in Wadi Rum is the best. It feels the most authentic, riding on the camel in the open desert. All the accommodations were centrally located, especially in Petra. It was one block from the entrance to Petra. Hala, the travel agent was patient, accommodating, and helpful. She answered all my endless e-mails without a complaint.
Worst parts:
I wish the driver would look at his cell phone less often, as this is a safety issue. However, the driver is skilled enough that I have less qualms about it than other drivers that I know. I wish I had more time in Petra. I believe the original itinerary planned to have the desert ride in Wadi Rum at sunrise, but my driver suggested sunset is better, hence curtailing my time in Petra.
Vifill Jordan
5
Jordan
Friends
Petra was the goal. Wow flight to Israel was the starter and google was the way to find the trip.
Best parts:
The people, and old culture
Worst parts:
Boarder control and rubish besites roads in Jordan and Palestina.
Photos by K.H.
5
Jordan
Family
We learned from our friends who visited Jordan before. Both Petra and Wadi Rum are great places to visit. We wish we could spend more time in Jaresh.
Best parts:
Jordan is amazing country and Jordanians are so welcome and nice. The several tourism sites we visited were wonderful! Also, we had a great driver+guide, Mohamed.
Worst parts:
Time is too short. We wish we had more time in Jordan.
joekp
5
Jordan
Solo
Arrived in Amman Friday afternoon by Hassan and drove to Wadi Rum and checked in to Camp Ramayeh. I was met early the next morning by an agent from Wadi Balloon for the ride. After the ride, my guide met me and we went to Petra where I spent about 5 hours on the tour and self exploration. The next day we toured Aqaba and then took a jeep tour of Wadi Rum and Bedouin camp. We returned to the airport the following morning.
Best parts:
Hassan was great tour guide! He was well versed in his country, its sites, food and culture and has an excellent command of English. He was able to arrange an additional hot air balloon ride over Wadi Rum that an excellent experience. He also found an excellent guide for Petra.
Worst parts:
The camp did not have accommodations for my driver/guide the first night so he had to drive to Aqaba and then come back the following morning. Overall I can't think of much that was bad the trip--some of the Jordanian drivers were a bit crazy but suspect you can't do much about that. The Camp was basic but comfortable with good food. The vendors at Petra could be aggressive. I suspect that with a proper education a couple of the younger ones could run a Fortune 500 company some day.