Carbon Neutral 100%

Travelers' reviews about Bhutan

4.9
28 reviews
BobF
5
Bhutan
Couple
The whole trip designed by the travel agent was really perfect. We could enjoy different sides of Bhutan, from the fast changing cities of Paro and Thimphu to the traditional places in Bumthang. Punakha and the sunny weather were really great. Enjoying some traditional archery competition there was interesting. The whole trip would not have been so nice without the great knowledge of our guide Tenzin on the Bhutanese history and tradition. As mentioned above, our driver has also done a wonderful job by driving safely (even with sometimes difficult weather conditions), giving us sufficient time to take picture along the road! A really wonderful experience!
Best parts:
- Our guide organized a wedding ceremony in one of the oldest temple of Bhutan for our 25 years wedding anniversary. A really unforgettable moment! - Enjoying the warm temperature in Punakha and the next day driving in 30 cm of fresh snow on the way to Bumthang. - For sure, the hike to the Tiger Nest was a wonderful experience
Worst parts:
There was no worst parts, just some little issues with the snow on the road, 2 days without electricity (and heating in the room). But with our wonderful driver and some good blankets in the room, it was not a problem ;-)
Evaneos
Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!
Jeff and Barb
5
Bhutan
Friends
We found Evanos on line and Ugyen was extremely helpful in determining the needs of our group. We very much enjoyed the personal care the guide and driver took to cover all the details and communicate what we going to do for the day. We were able to do small service projects along the way by distributing reading glasses to those in need and high elevation sunglasses.
Best parts:
Great guide and driver. Flexible itinerary and excellent sites to see. Wonderful local people.******************** hotels. Meeting with nuns and monks to distribute glasses. Thimpu Dzong. Visiting families. Glass work at the **************** in the guest room. Hikes with guide. We are not hanging our hat about the trip on this hotel. We are not suffering about this past event. But future guests that you book may be happier in other hotels in the area.
Worst parts:
The ******* Hotel. Just to say this one time, this hotel kind of tries, but is not what you think it is. Moth balls in the sinks in the rooms when you arrive is brutal. Not sure why theu do this but it is the only accommodation I have ever experienced this. No hot water in the morning both times we stayed there. This is not something expected in a 3 Star Hotel. A homestay, yes, but not a hotel. Food was by far the worst in the places we stayed. They put in one or two things into the serving trays at a time. They do not check to see what is in the trays so you must ask for additional. Then they bring out more 10 minutes later. When asked they say they can't keep it warm. Rooms situated by the hallway are very noisy. Number 3 is one we were in.
Evaneos
Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!
Happy traveller
5
Bhutan
Couple
We had a brilliant time travelling for 23 days in Nepal and Bhutan. Our time in Nepal included having a few days in Kathmandu and visiting the major sites there, walking in the hills around the Kathmandu valley, flying to Pokhara and walking in the Annapurna foothills, having a peaceful and rural few days next to Chitwan national park in the southern lowlands and finishing in Patan, a really interesting ancient place now pretty much joined up with Kathmandu city but with a very distinctive, upmarket atmosphere. The people and cultures, landscapes and habitats are so diverse in Nepal. It has so much of beauty and interest to see, more than we could ever have imagined, despite its obvious poverty and the devastating effect of the 2015 earthquakes. We had 9 days in Bhutan which is an intriguing place, that raised many contradictory feelings and a lot of thinking. The natural environment and landscapes of Bhutan are stunningly beautiful - still over 70% forested, its a carbon negative country and the still preserved traditional culture and ancient temples are truly amazing. Travellers should be aware that tourism is heavily controlled and monitored here. We spent our entire 9 days with our guide and driver and we could have felt pretty restricted but they were both so lovely and such great fun to be with, and all the people we met were so kind and welcoming that this more than compensated. The whole organisation of our trip was superb from the moment of being put in touch with Sudarshan in Kathmandu to returning home.
Best parts:
We have just returned from 23 days of really wonderful travelling in Nepal and Bhutan. The two countries are so different and both fascinating and stunningly beautiful. The ever present Himalayas were awe inspiring and the wildlife and bird life just amazing. The variety of experiences we had on our trip was incredible. Walking in the hills with the Himalayas as the backdrop, listening to monks carrying out ancient rituals in beautiful, vast monasteries in Bhutan, watching a mother and baby rhinoceros bathing and feeding in a pool in Chitwan, staying with wonderful people in their family homes in both countries and eating the healthiest, tastiest, freshly cooked meals with them are definitely some of the highlights for us. Sudarshan, the local agent in Kathmandu that Evaneos put us in contact with was absolutely brilliant throughout, from our first phone call to start planning our trip to him coming to say goodbye to us personally on the morning we left Nepal. We were able to communicate really easily with Sudarshan who responded so quickly during our whole time away. He made sure that all our arrangements ran smoothly in Bhutan and Nepal providing us with a really personalised service. The itinerary we’d worked out with Sudarshan really worked well and the day to day arrangements ran like clockwork. We’re both in our 60’s and travelling long distance now can be a bit more daunting than when we were younger. All through our time away, wherever we were, we felt so well looked after and were able to just relax and enjoy every moment of this holiday of a lifetime. We’d said we were keen to have a number of nights in homestays and this aspect of our trip really did make the holiday for us. Staying in peoples homes in countries like Nepal and Bhutan the accommodation was understandably fairly basic in certain respects (you need be prepared for a pretty firm bed and very basic washing & toilet facilities). But to be able to meet, talk, eat and share daily life with the families we stayed with gave such a richness to our experience and to our insight into the people, cultures and history of both countries. We’ll never forget the families we stayed with and the kindness and care shown to us. It’s the second time we have travelled with Evaneos and will definitely do so again and will definitely recommend others to do the same. We want to say a very big thank you again to Sudarshan in Nepal, and to our wonderful guide Somen and driver Namgay who looked after us for 9 days in Bhutan. Thank you to Evaneos for putting us in contact with these high quality, reliable agencies and taking the uncertainty and stress out of our trip.
Worst parts:
There was nothing we didn't like about our trip except realising how much more there was still to do and see, especially in Nepal - and having to come home! We did so much in the time we had and it was all worth doing. The place we liked the least was Pokhara because it is so touristy and sadly almost as polluted as Kathmandu. Even so we had a wonderful hike in the hills north of Pokhara flanked by the amazing Annapurna Himalayan range, rowing over the lake and walking up to the beautiful Peace Stupa and chilling in the lakeside cafes. You learn a lot being in a country and If we were planning the trip again there's a couple of things we'd add in. We'd build in more time for hiking. The emphasis often put on 'trekking' in Nepal can be off putting if you feel your fitness level may not be high enough. However we do a lot of walking at home and discovered that 'hiking' - a much less intimidating concept, is very feasible in Nepal and takes you on some great routes. We did some lovely day hikes and if we do ever get back we'd do more of this. We'd also build in more time for bird watching. The range of birds in Nepal and Bhutan make them a bird watchers paradise but to get the most out of that we should have made sure we had the time in the schedule to go to the right places for this and with guides who were specialists in this field, which I'm sure would have been possible if we'd pressed for it. Sadly the air pollution in Kathmandu is awful. We deliberately limited the time we were in the city and wore good quality face masks with filters whilst walking about. Having said that its a hugely vibrant and interesting place to be and we loved it.
Evaneos
Dear Happy traveller, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Bhutan and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
MANUEL
5
Bhutan
Solo
I really enjoyed Bhutan, nice people, good food and beautiful Country. I really hope this country can stay clean and environmentally friendly as it is now.
Best parts:
Amazing guide and amazing driver. The trip planning has been very smooth and easy.
Worst parts:
Nothing, everything has been great
Evaneos
Merci pour votre témoignage et à bientôt autour du monde!
MAP
5
Bhutan
Couple
We arrived Bhutan October 5,2019 & we were off on a journey that lasted for the next 13 days. We visited the Haa Valley & a surprise festival awaited us. Then we’re we’re off to Thimphu for the Thimphu Tshechu Festival. That was the only day it rained. Lots of temples, prayer wheels, valleys etc, another festival, the Thangbi Mani Festival, a Homestay & finally the Tiger’s Nest. Amazing trip, amazing people. Lucky us.
Best parts:
We loved it all;-) Lobzang,*** did everything possible to make this all run smoothly. Our guide, Samdrup & our driver, Om were the best. 13 days and so much to see & do. Three festivals, one Homestay, & the incredible Tiger’s Nest. Thanks to Samdrup & Om were made it up and back. If you plan to travel to Bhutan DO IT NOW. Cannot thank all who made this trip possible enough.
Worst parts:
No bad parts though the food needs some variety
Evaneos
Dear MAP, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Bhutan and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
Susan
5
Bhutan
Couple
We loved Bhutan. It is somewhere I have wanted to go for some time and it was as wonderful as I'd anticipated. I loved the trekking and enjoyed the camping element even more than I thought I would. There was the perfect mix of activity, time to relax and being part of the cultural experience. Our guide, Tenzing, was great. Very knowledgeable, very caring about us and our experience and very easy to be with. We went at the start of the walking season so we had the Druk Path and the camping sites to ourselves! Bhutan is such a beautiful and peaceful country and the itinerary *** put together for us was just perfect.
Best parts:
The variety - trekking, camping, festival, cultural elements - also our guide (Tenzing) was wonderful. It was very easy to communicate with Ugyen from BGT through the Evaneos website which was helpful. Overall, we felt supported and valued at every step of the process from booking to being dropped off for our flight home.
Worst parts:
The only element which we didn't like so much was the rain. We had more rain than we expected and the views of the mountains were very limited as a result.
Evaneos
Dear Susan, Thank you for your feedback! We are more than happy that you enjoyed your trip to Bhutan and we are looking forward to see you again soon! Yours sincerely, Your Evaneos Team!
Burch/Huynh
5
Bhutan
Friends
We loved every moment of our trip - a few of the highlights (but not all!): 1. We loved our visit to the monastery (Dzongdrakha) en route to Haa where we were invited to join with a group of monks in a chanting ritual. 2. Our stay in Haa which included watching a festival 3. The festival we visited in Thimphu. 4. Our visits to a weaving school, a paper making factory, an incense making factory and an arts school 5. Dochula Pass 6. Our family stay in Paro and stone bath 7. Our hike to Paro Taktsang
Best parts:
1. We had the best guide possible and a wonderful driver. The two of them greatly enhanced our experience and we are very grateful to have spent time with them. 2. The trip included everything we asked for - and more! Each day was well organized but also had the flexibility that made it feel relaxed and not overwhelming.
Worst parts:
There was absolutely nothing that we did not thoroughly love about our trip. We mean that with the utmost sincerity.
Evaneos
Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!
NA
5
Bhutan
Solo
Bhutan had been on my bucket list for some years. It was only after Mr. ****** of**********. called me all the way from Bhutan, (in response to my online inquiry), that I started to think seriously about making this journey at this particular time. I was so struck by his professionalism, his re-assuring description of the trip and his sincerity, that I decided to embark on this memorable journey. My only regret is the brevity of my trip, and that I could not manage some of the strenuous uphill hikes. The Paro museum visit was an eye opener. The bio-diversity of the flora and fauna in Bhutan is fascinating. The visit to this museum educated me in many aspects of this remarkable tiny country.The view from here is spectacular, of the city and the Paro airport. As a travel destination, Bhutan is so unique, and should be at the top of a world traveller's list . That Bhutan has successfully kept a lid on unbridled tourism and reckless pollution, should be a model for reflection, and envy. Thank You to the thoughtfulness of the People and the Country. . .
Best parts:
The first thing that strikes you as you land and proceed through the airport, is the purity of the atmosphere and cleanliness. Immediately following is the Warmth and Hospitality of the people. That sets the tone for the rest of the visit. My guide, Mr. Sherab and driver, Mr. Tshering were exceptional. They made all the difference, providing me with great company and conversation throughout the long days of our journey together, especially since I was travelling by myself. The country itself is blessed with unsurpassed natural beauty, with a never ending majestic panorama. Amidst all this is the culture, the costumes and colours ... a veritable feast for the eyes.
Worst parts:
If an improvement can be made, it would be the Food. Although it was nourishing and relatively tasty, there were times when it did not live up to expectations. Mostly at lunches, some of the buffet dishes were not replenished at all or quickly enough, as tour groups kept pouring in. Secondly the car back seat was quite uncomfortable and did not provide enough back support. Suggest some cushions, better vehicle suspension, for the long drives each day. . .
Evaneos
Thank you for your feed back! See you around the world!
#SJgoestoBhutan
5
Bhutan
Private group
A colleague of mine, who is in charge of the immersion searched the internet and looked for providers who offer customized cultural immersion for the students. Upon checking on your agency, she asked somebody from the Philippines who already availed of your services. Luckily, one responded and provided us the contact information. I think all the itineraries designed for our trip. Our coaster ride made us bond with each other more. The food that we shared. The accommodation made us feel at home and well taken care of. The tour guide, the drivers and Mr. Ugyen were all accommodating and exciting to be with. We enjoyed the hikes, though tiring. Likewise, our lunch by the river and our visit to different temples and to one public school. All in all, we felt the love and care of the Bhutanese. Truly, Bhutan is a land of happiness.
Best parts:
The whole trip, while physically-challenging, was exciting and memorable. In particular, the hike to Paro Taktshang Monastery (Tiger's Nest) was stunning and breathtaking.
Worst parts:
None actually. Perhaps, it is more on the physical preparedness of the participants for long and frequent land travel.
Evaneos
Dear SJgoestoBhutan, Thank you very much for the positive review and beautiful photo's. We are happy you have had a wonderful experience in the beautiful Bhutan. Thank you kindly for allowing us to post your feedback and photo's. We hope you see you again by Evanaeos, kind regards The Evaneos Team
Milano_1985
5
Bhutan
Friends
We agreed at the phone about the itinerary. There was the perfect mix between cultural sites and nature, with beautiful trekkings, temples, accomodations and guides (guide + driver).
Best parts:
Everything!
Worst parts:
Nothing!
Bog
5
Bhutan
Couple
Bhutan is a beautiful country with beautiful people; kind, helpful and friendly
Best parts:
Everything was well organized by our local Agency.
Peter McLennan
5
Bhutan
Friends
We found the tour online. We selected the 'Festival of Paro' tour mainly because the dates aligned with our needs and the festival sounded interesting.The visits to Thimphu and Punakha were interesting and offered a chance to see more of the landscape. We had a limited time in-country and this tour worked well for us. I can upload some photos, but I need to process them first. They are too large to send as-is. Can I access this feedback site later?
Best parts:
Ugyen C. was a superb guide in all respects. He was clear, helpful, informative, respectful and friendly. We could not have asked for more. He was more like a friend than a contractor. I cannot recommend him highly enough. His driver, Kensho. was also skilled and helpful. The tour was well organized and Ugyen was willing to adapt his schedule to our needs.. The accommodations in Punakha were superb. The others were satisfactory.
Worst parts:
There were some difficulties with credit cards, but that is to be expected in a small country like Bhutan. Facilities that don't take credit cards (in particular, the hotel in Paro) should make this clear at the outset to avoid surprises at checkout time. This hotel is showing significant wear and is sadly in need of renovations. Internet is important. The hotels we visited had very slow internet, mostly due to a lack of infrastructure. A single Wi Fi router was used to service the entire hotel in Thimphu, for example. This is unsatisfactory. The hotel in Paro had just one serviceable router, too. I found it necessary to re-start the router myself once I located it. It was delivering approximately 0.01 mbps. Not even enough for email.
Velu
5
Bhutan
Family
Visited Paro, Punaka and Thimpu on a 5N 6D trip.
Best parts:
Well organised custom made trip. Professional guide and driver. Very courteous, punctual and helpful. Went out of the way to meet our requests. Never moaned or rushed us even when they were supposed to be off duty. Gave a helping hand in difficult terrains. Called hotels ahead to made sure we were comfortable in our hotels. Good food and did not allow us to carry any bags.
Worst parts:
As OAPs we found hiking bit difficult.
Mountain goat
5
Bhutan
Couple
Had a great time. Views of Himilayas were amazing, as were Fortress at Punaka, Tigers Nest and the other temples and fortresses. Bhutanese very friendly. A must for those who who want to experience something slighty different
Best parts:
Bhutan is amazing. Everything worked like clockwork. Guide very knowledgeable and helpful and driver very safe. Visited some amazing sites and the weather in winter if fantastic, clear blue skies and not cold. Can understand why more people don't go in winter. Hotels were really good apart from one, see below.
Worst parts:
The only slight issue was at the Dewachen hotel. If they are going to have tourist in the winter they need to sort a few things out. It is not really acceptable to have to sit in the dinning room with coats and hats on because there is no effective heating. Similarly they should have the heating on in the bedrooms before guests arrive and really need to improve room heating as an open fire which goes out during the night it not good enough
RAY M
5
Bhutan
Family
BHUTAN IS STILL UNSPOILT AND THAT IS WHAT MAKES IT UNIQUE. THE SCENERY IS INCREDIBLE ,THE LOCAL PEOPLE VERY FRIENDLY...TREKKING UP TO TIGER TEMPLE WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF OUR VISIT
Best parts:
THE WHOLE BHUTAN EXPERIENCE WAS A WONDERFUL DISCOVERY OF A STILL UNSPOILT COUNTRY....BUT THENZIN AND TINGA THE GUIDE AND DRIVER FROM BHUTAN GREEN TRAVEL WERE VERY GOOD WITH US AND MADE SURE THAT WE WERE WELL TAKEN CARE OF. I MUST AGAIN HERE THANK THEM FOR HELPING ME WITH MY PREDICAMENT AS I PULLED A MUSCLE IN MY BACK ON MY FIRST DAY THERE ..THEY MADE SURE I WAS COMFORTABLE AND I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO FINISH OUR ITINERARY WITHOUT THEIR HELP
Worst parts:
IT WAS ALL GOOD